University of Texas at Austin
Libraries Home | Mobile | My Account | Renew Items | Sitemap | Help |
support us

University of Texas Libraries

University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life

About

Find Articles

Theses
and Dissertations

Virtual Field Trip Guides

Geosciences
Links

logo
orange divider image

Find Articles

Research Guides Find Articles and Databases
orange divider

Research Guides

Geared towards popular research subjects or courses. You'll find books, field guides, maps, theses, dissertations, and other reference materials that are located in the Walter Geology Library. Internet resources are included.

Austin: The Lay of the Land. Austin and Travis County, Texas.

Basic Textbooks in the Geological Sciences.

Big Bend. Big Bend and Trans-Pecos area.

Bureau of Economic Geology (BEG) : Publication Guide.

Decade of North American Geology (D-NAG). Series established by the Geological Society of America.

Edwards Aquifer, Central Texas.

Energy and Earth Resources Research Help.

Frequently Asked for Series. AAPG, BEG, GSA, GSL, SEPM, USGS.

Gems and Gemology. Resources to assist students in GEO 347K Gem and Gem Minerals.

Geoscience Reference Sources.

Llano Uplift, Central Texas.

Minerals and Earth Materials Resource Guide. To assist students in GEO 416K Earth Materials.

Self-Presentation in the Sciences. Style guides to geoscientific and technical writing. Citing and evaluating electronic sources. Professional and résumé guides.

Texas Coastal Zone.

Texas Floods : Sources. Agencies and agency publications, theses, and monographs that provide Texas flood data. Includes some climatology material.

Texas Soil Surveys

Texas Water : Sources.

Trans-Pecos Texas Geology Resources.

United States Geological Survey (USGS) : Publication Guide

 


Find Articles and Databases:

Tutorial: Conducting Geological Research. Introduction to searching GeoRef, GeoScienceWorld, Lyell Collection, and AAPG Datapages.

Databases : Geological Sciences. Recommended databases for starting your research.

Research Tools. Access online maps, images, databases, journals, books, news sources, and government information.

Tutorials and Guides. Books, Plagiarism and Citations, Opinions and Statistics, Criticism and Reviews, Legal and Government Information, How To..., For Faculty and Graduate Students, Articles, Evaluate Sources, Database Tutorials, Subject Tutorials.

orange divider