Subject Guide

The following subject categories list collections that include a bulk of records under that subject. These categories are not all inclusive. Each collection should be reviewed separately for more in-depth scholarship. To search the holdings of the Alexander Architectural Archive by subject, go to the Texas Archival Resources Online (TARO) site. Under Search the Finding Aids, use the following query: "alexander architectural and [subject term]".
- Affiliated Businesses
- Architectural Surveys
- American Architects and/or Architectural Firms
- British Architects and Collections
- Classics
- Community and Regional Planning
- Institution Archives
- Interior Design
- Landscape Architecture
- Maya Studies
- Mexico
- Professional Association
- Scholarship
- State/Country Collections
- Student Work
- University of Texas School of Architecture
Affiliated Businesses
- Wayne Andrews: An Inventory of his Architectural Photographs
- Atlantic Terra Cotta Company: An Inventory of its Architectural Records and Photographs, 1914-1941
- Carrozza Investments, Inc.: An Inventory of its Collection, c.1970-1990
- Elgin-Butler Brick Company: An Inventory of its Drawings, 1959-1980
- Petrich-Saur Lumber Company: An Inventory of its Drawings
- R. M. Williamson: An Inventory of his Dallas, Texas, Plan Books and Advertisements, 1919-1930
Architectural Surveys
- Texas Architecture Survey: An Inventory of its Photographs and Papers, 1965-1966
- David Reichard Williams: An Inventory of his Photographs, Negatives, and Records, 1916-1978
American Architects and/or Architectural Firms
(Interior Design, Landscape Architecture and Planning are listed separately)
- Ayres and Ayres Architects: An Inventory of their Architectural Drawings, Photographs and Records, 1894-1977
- Wayne Bell papers, 1957-2009
- Sinclair Black: An Inventory of his Drawings and Architectural Records, 1984-1986
- William N. Bonham papers, circa 1981, 2010, undated
- Hal Box: An Inventory of his Papers, Drawings and Photographs, c.1933-1998 (bulk 1971-1998)
- J. Fred Buenz, 1926-1927, 1939, 1940
- Ralph Cameron: An Inventory of his Drawings and Architectural Records, 1914-1970
- Nicholas Joseph Clayton: An Inventory of his Drawings and Papers, 1883-1901
- Bartlett Cocke: An Inventory of his Papers
- Colley Associates drawings, 1960s
- Robert James Coote papers, 1960-2004
- Philip Creer: An Inventory of his Papers
- Paul Philippe Cret: An Inventory of his Drawings, Photographic Material and Papers, 1930-1957
- Corneil G. Curtis: An Inventory of his Drawings, c.1930s-1950s
- George Dahl: An Inventory of his Papers, 1916-1991
- Natalie de Blois: An Inventory of Working Drawings and Students' Studio Work, 1965, 1979-1990
- Charles Stevens Dilbeck drawings, 1929-1969
- Buford Duke, Jr. collection, 1971-2000, undated
- Fehr and Granger collection, 1936-1966
- Fooshee and Cheek: An Inventory of their Drawings and Records, 1930-1966
- O'Neil Ford: An Inventory of his Drawings, Papers and Photographic Material, 1864-1993
- Walter Eugene George, Jr.: An Inventory of his Drawings, Restoration Projects from Texas and Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia; and New Construction Projects, 1951-1979
- Preston M. Geren: An Inventory of his Drawings, 1937-1969
- Alfred Giles: An Inventory of his Drawings, 1878-1907
- Goldwin Goldsmith: An Inventory of his Drawings, Papers and Photographs, 1896-1961
- James Riely Gordon: An Inventory of his Drawings and Papers, ca. 1890-1937
- Roy E. Graham papers, 1962-1984
- Greene LaRoche and Dahl: An Inventory of their Collection, 1902-1953
- Harwell Hamilton Harris: An Inventory of his Papers, Photographs and Drawings, 1906-1990
- Robert H. H. Hugman: An Inventory of his Drawings, 1938-1939
- Jessen and Jessen papers, 1938-1974
- Karl Kamrath: An Inventory of his Collection, 1914-2004
- Lang and Witchell: An Inventory of their Collection
- Theo S. Maffitt and Theodore S. Maffitt: An Inventory of their Drawings, c.1914-1981
- Marshall and Fox: An Inventory of their Drawings and Records, 1900-1959
- Mike Mebane: An Inventory of his Papers, c.1928-1963
- Howard R. Meyer: An Inventory of his Drawings, Photographs and Records, 1924-1986
- Charles W. Moore Archives, 1950-1992, undated
- Chester E. Nagel: An Inventory of his Drawings, Papers, and Photographs, c.1939-1971
- Donald S. Nelson: An Inventory of his Architectural Records, Drawings, and Photographs, 1910-1975
- Thomas A. Pressly, Jr.: An Inventory of his Collection
- Robert T. Renfro collection, 1954-2005
- Roland Gommel Roessner: An Inventory of his Records, Photographs and Slides, 1935-1991
- Walter T. Rolfe: An Inventory of his Records, Drawings, and Paintings, 1920-1967
- Frederick E. Ruffini: An Inventory of his Collection
- Max M. Sandfield records, 1936-1965, undated
- Sanguinet, Staats, and Hedrick: An Inventory of their Drawings, Photographs, and Records, 1910-1969, 1991
- Jim Scoggins collection, 1889, 1913-1914, bulk 1957-1993
- Harvey P. Smith: An Inventory of his Drawings and Field Notes, 1929-1957
- Lawrence W. Speck Associates: An Inventory of their Architectural Records and Drawings, 1977-1990, 1996
- Edward Duke Squibb collection, 1955-1997
- Henry J. Steinbomer: An Inventory of his Drawings, 1940-1964
- William A. Storrer papers, 1949-2002
- Arch B. Swank Jr.: An Inventory of his Drawings, Photographs and Papers, 1951-1979
- Roy L. Thomas: An Inventory of his Records, Drawings, and Photographs, 1910-1966
- J.L. Wees: An Inventory of his Drawings and Papers, 1909-1983
- Ludwig B. Weinman: An Inventory of his Drawings, 1890-1929
- Frank D. Welch architectural records, 1960s-2000s
- Robert Leon White: An Inventory of his Drawings, 1920-1928
- David Reichard Williams: An Inventory of his Photographs, Negatives, and Records, 1916-1978
- J. Eugene Wukasch: An Inventory of his Drawings and Papers, 1900-1996 (bulk 1930-1987)
- John G. York: An Inventory of his Drawings and Records, 1940-1977
- Alfred Zucker: An Inventory of his Drawings, 1880-1904
British Architects and Collections
- Great Britain Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings, 1928
- Smith and Brewer: An Inventory of their Drawings,(1896-(1900-1919)-1939)
- Sir Aston Webb: An Inventory of his Drawings, Photographs, and Printed Material, 1868-1936
- Weinreb Architectural collection: An Inventory of its Materials, 1825-1890, 1928-1932
Classics
Community and Regional Planning
- Kent S. Butler papers, 1971-2011
- Hugo Leipziger-Pearce: An Inventory of his Papers and Photographs, (1920-(1955-1978)-1990)
- Texas Chapter of the American Planning Association: The History of Planning in Texas Project Records, 1977-1994
- Samuel B. Zisman: An Inventory of his Papers, 1937-1970
Institution Archives
- John Tarleton Agricultural College: An Inventory of its Collection, c.1921-1941
- The University of Texas at Austin, School of Architecture: An Inventory of the Collection, 1911-2002 (bulk 1960-1992)
- University of Texas Buildings Collection: An Inventory of Drawings and Papers, 1882-ongoing
- Winedale Historical Center: An Inventory of the Collection, 1961-1993
Interior Design
Landscape Architecture
- Glenn Cook records, 1972-1979, undated
- H. Dan Heyn: An Inventory of his Drawings, Office Records, and Photographic Material, 1953-2001
- Stewart King: An Inventory of his Drawings, Photographs, and Records, 1950-1969
- James G. Reeves records, circa 1967-2002
Maya Studies
Mexico
- George F. and Geraldine D. Andrews: An Inventory of their Papers
- Hal Box: An Inventory of his Papers, Drawings and Photographs, c.1933-1998 (bulk 1971-1998)
Professional Association
- Texas Chapter of the American Planning Association: The History of Planning in Texas Project Records, 1977-1994
- James Riely Gordon: An Inventory of his Drawings and Papers, ca. 1890-1937
Scholarship (including manuscript material)
- George F. and Geraldine D. Andrews: An Inventory of their Papers
- Joel Warren Barna: An Inventory of his Records for The See-Through Years, c.1992
- Lisa Germany papers, 1886-1992, bulk 1950-1992
- Martin S. Kermacy: An Inventory of his Collection of materials documenting the Austrian Secession principally in the 17th, 18th and 20th centuries
- Lucy Shoe Meritt: An Inventory of her Collection, Including Manuscripts, Original Drawings, Plates, and Photographs, 1929-1970, 1995-1997
- Raoul Josset: An Inventory of his Records and Photographs, 1927-1967
State/Country Collections
- California Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings, 1962, c.1993, 1995-1996
- Colorado Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings, 1979-1981
- Connecticut Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings, 1961, 1981
- District of Columbia Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings, 1936, 1974, n.d.
- Great Britain Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings, 1928
- Greece Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings
- Illinois Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings and other Materials, 1893, 1903
- Indiana Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings, 1955
- Kansas Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings, n.d.
- Louisiana Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings, 2001
- Maryland Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings, 1970
- Mexico Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings, c.1930-1940; 1962, 1967, 1986
- Missouri Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings, n.d.
- New Mexico Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings, 1928, 1947, 1964, 1976-1981
- New York Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings, 1950, 1980, 1995
- Oklahoma Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings,1947-1961
- Pennsylvania Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings, 1888-1889, 1986
- Russian Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings, 1998-2002
- Texas Architecture Collection: An Inventory of Drawings, 1897-1999 and ongoing
- Virginia Architectural collection: An Inventory of Drawings
Student Work
- Ayres and Ayres Architects: An Inventory of their Architectural Drawings, Photographs and Records, 1894-1977
- Hal Box: An Inventory of his Papers, Drawings and Photographs, c.1933-1998 (bulk 1971-1998)
- Raymond Everett: An Inventory of his Student Drawings from Harvard University, 1907-1909
- Martin S. Kermacy: An Inventory of his Collection of materials documenting the Austrian Secession principally in the 17th, 18th and 20th centuries
- Gerlinde Leiding collection, circa 1990s
- Robert T. Renfro collection, 1954-2005
- The University of Texas at Austin, School of Architecture, Texas Architecture Archive: An Inventory of Student Measured Drawings, 1957-ongoing, and Student Reports, 1948-ongoing
- The University of Texas at Austin, School of Architecture: An Inventory of the Collection, 1911-2002 (bulk 1960-1992)
- University of Texas at Austin School of Architecture, Student Work: An Inventory of Selected Design Studies Produced by the Students, 1915-current
- Robert Leon White: An Inventory of his Drawings, 1920-1928
University of Texas School of Architecture Faculty
- Drury Blakeley Alexander: An Inventory of his Drawings, Papers, and Photographic Material, [1887]-1995
- Wayne Bell papers, 1957-2009
- Sinclair Black: An Inventory of his Drawings and Architectural Records, 1984-1986
- Hal Box: An Inventory of his Papers, Drawings and Photographs, c.1933-1998 (bulk 1971-1998)
- Robert James Coote papers, 1960-2004
- Philip Creer: An Inventory of his Papers
- Natalie de Blois: An Inventory of Working Drawings and Students' Studio Work, 1965, 1979-1990
- Buford Duke, Jr. collection, 1971-2000, undated
- O'Neil Ford: An Inventory of his Drawings, Papers and Photographic Material, 1864-1993
- Walter Eugene George, Jr.: An Inventory of his Drawings, Restoration Projects from Texas and Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia; and New Construction Projects, 1951-1979
- Goldwin Goldsmith: An Inventory of his Drawings, Papers and Photographs, 1896-1961
- Roy E. Graham papers, 1962-1984
- Harwell Hamilton Harris: An Inventory of his Papers, Photographs and Drawings, 1906-1990
- Martin S. Kermacy: An Inventory of his Collection of materials documenting the Austrian Secession principally in the 17th, 18th and 20th centuries
- Gerlinde Leiding collection, circa 1990s
- Robert G. Mather papers, 1958-1984
- Hugh L. McMath papers, 1928-1977
- Charles W. Moore Archives: Faculty papers, 1950-1992
- Robert T. Renfro collection, 1954-2005
- Roland Gommel Roessner: An Inventory of his Records, Photographs and Slides, 1935-1991
- Walter T. Rolfe: An Inventory of his Records, Drawings, and Paintings, 1920-1967
- Lawrence W. Speck Associates: An Inventory of their Architectural Records and Drawings, 1977-1990, 1996
- Richard P. Swallow papers, 1957-2007
- The University of Texas at Austin, School of Architecture: An Inventory of the Collection, 1911-2002 (bulk 1960-1992)
